Thursday, 11 October 2012

1957 Sonny Rollins - Saxophone Colossus

Info: Born Theodore Walter Rollins in New York, September 1930, Rollins began playing piano aged 9, but gave it up before picking up the saxophone in high school, after which he made his first recordings with the likes of Bud Powell, in 1948, which would eventually lead to him playing with Art Blakey and Miles Davis in the early 1950's. Saxophone Colossus was released in 1957 and is currently ranked as the No.1 album for the year on and also has 5 stars on . Recorded during his peak period, with pianist Tommy Flanagan, bassist Doug Watkins and the legendary jazz drummer, Max Roach (of Max Roach and Clifford Brown fame, This album is widely considered Rollins' finest work, with the final track "Blue 7" capturing his individualism, other key tracks include "Moriat" and "St. Thomas" (above). 

Track Listing:

1. St.Thomas
2. You Don't Know What Love Is
3. Strode Rode
4. Moritat
5. Blue 7

No comments:

Post a Comment